top image

All applications are due by January 1st.
Awards will be granted by mid-April

New Student Scholarships

Returning Student Scholarships


Alumni Scholarship – $400
Incoming students with high scholastic ability who is a child of a Montana Western graduate.

Hans & Georgiana Andersen Memorial – $1,000
Beaverhead County high school graduate, full time student in good scholastic standing and financial need.

Bank of Commerce Scholarship – $1,500
Business student with preference to a student employed in the banking industry or interest in banking.

Connor Arnott Memorial – $500
Priority given to a graduate of Stevensville High School or Lone Rock school interested in majoring in Environmental Sciences

Emerick – varies
Talented Secondary Education major with Art minor or Art major students on a competitive basis.

Theo Bay Memorial Book Scholarship – $250
Full Time student who enjoys reading and/or education major with a literacy minor or special education endorsement.

Beaverhead Education Assoc. Book Award – $500
Enrolled in teacher education program with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Will need to submit cover letter & 2 letters of recommendation if selected for consideration.

Albert & Ethel Bender – $600
Custer Co. HS graduate or other Southeastern Montana High School graduate (Athlete if available.)

William S. Bender Memorial – $500
Montana resident with outstanding scholarship and leadership qualities, and active in extracurricular activities.

Arnold & Cora Benson Scholarship – $500
Montana resident who demonstrates financial need and maintains 2.5 GPA.

Jane Buttrey Memorial – $500
Humanities & social science majors with B average and financial need.

Ed Cebull Alumni Memorial – $700
English education major who volunteers in UMW activities. Preference to in-state student. Minimum 2.0 GPA

Chancellor’s Leadership – Full Tuition 4 years
MT resident with a minimum cumulative 3.6 GPA and 26 ACT or 1760 SAT

Crouse/Sisteron Memorial – $400
Education major with a 3.0 GPA and financial need

Lulu May Clay – $150
Outstanding all-around student.

Clarence Dahl, Jr., Anaconda Senior High – $1,000
Full time male students with preference to Anaconda Senior High School graduate Men’s Basketball player.

Carl & Martha Davis Anniversary – $4,000
Full time student who is enrolled and in good standing. A special student with a great deal of potential.

Kristen Dunfee Memorial – $1,000
Education major who plans on teaching in Montana and is a graduate from a Montana high school. Based on leadership, citizenship and need.

Chiddix Math Education – $1,000
Math Education major with a 3.2 GPA. Preference to a student from Anaconda and Southwestern Montana.

Clyde Eccleston Memorial – $700
Anaconda High School graduate majoring in education.

Erb Family – $4,000
Montana resident with scholastic superiority amongst the pool of qualified applicants and whose cumulative academic achievements far surpass their peers.

Jean S. Feldt Memorial – $500
Female athlete with preference to elementary education major with minimum 3.3 GPA and financial need.

Freshman Honor – $500
Awarded based on high school achievement and involvement in high school
extracurricular activities with a high GPA & ACT. (Minimum 3.3 GPA)

Haynes Scholarship Fund – $2,000
Montana undergraduate student with a minimum 3.4 GPA and has financial need.

Norman and Maurine Jacobson Education – $1,000
Education major with a 2.0 GPA. Preferene to a single parent with finacial need.  Additional preference to a student with leadership abilities.

Casey Keltz Memorial Scholarship – $1,000
Awarded to a Men’s Basketball player.

Kleis Larsen Scholarship – $300
Montana high school graduate who plans to teach in Montana. Based on leadership, citizenship and financial need.

Lulack “Rock Jock” – $1,200
Geology or Environmental Science major with great potential. Student athlete with a minimum GPA of 2.5.

Joseph E. McCarvel – $300
Elementary education major from Anaconda or a non-traditional student.

Sherry Lynn Miller Memorial – $500
Female student athlete from Plains, Montana

Robert Monaco Memorial – $500
Montana HS graduate with preference to Beaverhead County HS graduate, education major. Minimum 3.0 GPA and member of the UMW basketball team. Based on Christian values, leadership, citizenship & desire to help others.

Morningstar Traditional – $500-$1,000
Montana resident traditional and non-traditional students with minimum 2.5 GPA. Preference to Madison county area graduates.

Morningstar Non-Traditional – $500-$1,000
Montana resident traditional and non-traditional students with minimum 3.0 GPA. Preference to Madison county area graduates.

Margaret R. Orr Memorial – $600
Montana high school graduate majoring in education who plans to teach in Montana.

Elizabeth Ann Orr Memorial – $600
Montana high school graduate majoring in education who plans to teach in Montana.

L.S. Osborne Memorial – $450
Awarded to a student with high scholastic ability.

Dean Ovitt Memorial Scholarship – $1,000
Montana or Idaho high school graduate with demonstrated leadership, strong work ethic, community & campus service. Student athlete with academic proficiency.

Wallace & Ersel Webb Sharples – $700
Teacher education major with the intention of teaching in a rural school. Minimum 2.5 GPA.

David Shepherd Memorial – $500
Awarded to a graduate of southwest Montana high school with preference to Beaverhead County. Preference to football or basketball player. Minimum 3.0 GPA.

Short Memorial Scholarship – $1,000
White Sulphur Springs graduate.

Wayne W. Smith Elementary Education – $500
Elementary Education major with a minimum GPA of 3.0. Preference to a student with financial need.

Marny Spruce – $1,000
Awarded to a full time Native American student with a 3.0 gpa or better, preference to education/prelaw/env. sciences majors and financial need.

Steele-Reese Memorial – $250-$1,000
Awarded to graduates of Salmon, Challis, Leadore, or Mackay high schools in Lemhi or Custer counties, Idaho. Highest FPA will receive highest award.

Vanderzanden Family Scholarship – $500
Men’s basketball player with preference given to an out-of-state player.

Wells Fargo Bank – $300
Madison or Beaverhead county graduate with a business major, preference to student with an interest in Banking.